Devblog #6

Screen Shot 2018-04-26 at 6.05.56 PMfireball

It’s time for another update to the development of the game. This time, I’ve decided to be more organised in the way I show my updates. I figured it would help me better keep track of what I am doing, and how I can improve the game.

1. Added in a Start Check Point

I’ve yet to show anything on how it looks like when you get hit by the enemy orbs (however it is already implemented, you don’t just die and restart btw), because I’ve still got some issues with the animation working, and it looks kinda shabby now. But the idea is that you have a check point in the map, that you kinda load from. I added this animation so you know where they are. They should also probably “activate” in some way when you run past them, kinda like Sonic The Hedgehog’s bell/lamp post checkpoints.

2. End Portal & Dialogue system

As a platformer, it will play out in stages. Story will be the focus at this point for Will O’ Wisp, so at the end of the stage (atleast the first here). There will be this thing that happens. There is a backstory to it that I will share at a later stage. I think it’s looking good now as it brings out the story and feeling that I am trying to show. *Hint* it isn’t a portal.

3. Bullethell Ability

 

Screen Shot 2018-04-27 at 7.12.59 PM

ezgif.com-video-to-gif (21).gif

What kind of bullet hell platformer am I making if it doesn’t have bullet hell abilities, amirite? Our Will O’ Wisp has the ability to set the world on fire. lol. He can fire back I mean.

Check out the tweet below to see some gameplay of the fireball ability.

Leave a comment